The Atwater Kent Manufacturing Co., founded by inventor Arthur Atwater Kent in the early 1920s, was for a time the largest radio manufacturer in the U.S. Atwater Kent is known for its early 'breadboard' receiver kits, which had no external case to hide the tubes and other components, and required some assembly. The company also made cathedral type and tombstone style radios, and stand-alone speakers.

Best of the Web (“Hall of Fame”)

Jim's Antique Radio Museum

Jim's Antique Radio Museum

Jim Tripp's showcase of radios from the 1920s to late 1950s, organized by style and theme (wood, console, plastic, … [read review or visit site]

The Radio Attic's Archives

The Radio Attic's Archives

This photo gallery of over 7800 vintage radios, categorized by manufacturer and model number, is a group effort wit… [read review or visit site]

Alan Voorhees' reference resource for vintage radio collectors includes a photo gallery, article library, PDF archi… [read review or visit site]

This vast archive and community of radio collectors features over 120,000 radio model listings and 350,000 photos a… [read review or visit site]

Phil's Old Radios

Phil's Old Radios

This extensive collection of antique radios includes beautiful photos and detailed historical descriptions. The sit… [read review or visit site]

John Pelham's collection of wood and plastic radios from the 1930's and 40's. What sets this site apart is the deta… [read review or visit site]



Steve Erenberg's extremely wacky and well-done collection of vintage mad-scientist devices and contraptions. Writte… [read review or visit site]

Clubs & Associations

Discussion Forums

Other Great Reference Sites

Recent News: Atwater Kent Radios

Source: Google News

Friday's Scores
Albany Times Union, October 17th

Pemberville Eastwood 41, Rossford 7. Peninsula Woodridge 49, Atwater Waterloo 7. Perrysburg 56, Sylvania Northview 3. Pickerington Cent. ... Streetsboro 54, Kent Roosevelt 47. Sugarcreek Garaway 43, E. Can. 3. Sullivan Black River 28, Oberlin Firelands...Read more

Museum of Radio and Technology channels memories of a bygone era
Charleston Daily Mail, October 16th

BOB WOJCIESZAK/DAILY MAIL The museum has 400 antique radios, including this Atwater Kent from the 1920s. BOB WOJCIESZAK/DAILY MAIL Shelves are lined with tubes, components, batteries and various paraphernalia for repairing antique equipment...Read more

Live Music: Saturday, Oct. 18
The Providence Journal, October 15th

The Atwater-Donnelly Trio featuring Kevin Doyle, folk, One World Coffeehouse, First Universalist Church of Essex, 57 Main St., Essex, Mass. (978) 768-3690 .... Rockapella, Motown a cappella, George Kent Performance Hall, 119 High St., Westerly. 596...Read more

Nurses Want To Know How Safe Is Safe Enough With Ebola
North Country Public Radio, October 14th

A day after Pham's diagnosis, she received a blood transfusion from Ebola survivor Kent Brantley, an aid worker who contracted the disease while working in West Africa. "I'm doing well and want to thank everyone for their kind wishes and .... Na Young...Read more

Registrars list polling places for November election
Milford Mirror, October 14th

Abigail Street, Anderson Avenue, Andover Drive, Ansantawae Road, Applewood Lane, Arrowhead Drive, Ashburn Lane, Ashwood Road, Aster Road, Atwater Street, Barbara Drive, Barn Lane, Barrow Street, Beach Avenue, Beacher Road, Belmont Street, .... Harold...Read more

Atwater firefighter receives state fire marshal award
The-review, October 14th

Baughman was nominated for the award by his wife, Atwater Fire Captain Paula Baugham, Atwater Fire Chief Mel Russell, and a couple of students who had just completed a class taught by Jesse Baughman. As assistant chief at Atwater, Baughman is also the...Read more

Cedar Springs Brewing breaks ground this week with plans to be German beer ..., October 13th

On Tuesday, Oct. 14, crews break ground on the Cedar Springs Brewing Co., another addition to the ever-expanding West Michigan beer industry, and one that Ringler hopes can become a destination stop in northern Kent County. “We'll be relatively German...Read more

Tapped for MAMA Award, Downbeats still rock
Modesto Bee, October 9th

Or, in Kent Whitt and the Downbeats' case, since rock 'n' roll bands came to Modesto. Credited as the ... They were regulars at the California Ballroom in Modesto, the fairgrounds in Turlock and Castle Air Force Base in Atwater, among other venues...Read more