Share your favorites on Show & Tell

1972 - Sharjah - "J.F. Kennedy" Postage Stamps

In Stamps > Show & Tell and Politics > Kennedy Memorabilia > Show & Tell.
Stamps778 of 11311962 - West Germany - "Butterflies" Postage Stamps1972 - Tonga - "Banana" Postage Stamp
Love it
Like it

AimathenaAimathena loves this.
geo26egeo26e loves this.
walksoftlywalksoftly loves this.
SEAN68SEAN68 loves this.
pops52pops52 loves this.
DrFluffyDrFluffy loves this.
See 4 more
Add to collection

    Please create an account, or Log in here

    If you don't have an account, create one here.

    Create a Show & TellReport as inappropriate

    Posted 8 years ago

    (2304 items)

    This is a first day issue postmarked mini-sheet of (6) John F. Kennedy commemorative postage stamps issued on May 25, 1972 by Sharjah & Dependencies. - The sheet contains three Air Mail stamps (left side), and three regular mail stamps. There is no catalog listing for this issue.
    #1) - 75 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Cape Canaveral, Florida (Air Mail)
    #2) - 1 riyal - J.F. Kennedy & Statue of Liberty, New York City (Air Mail)
    #3) - 3 riyals - J.F. Kennedy & Niagara Falls, New York/Canada (Air Mail)
    #4) - 5 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA
    #5) - 10 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & The White House, Washington, D.C.
    #6) - 35 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Mount Rushmore, South Dakota
    FIRST DAY ISSUE POSTMARK - May 25, 1972 / Sharjah & Dependencies
    In 1963 Sharjah opened its own post office and began to issue its stamps and postal stationery under the name of Sharjah & Dependencies (which included Kalba, Khor Fakkan, and Dibbah). Sharjah and its dependencies joined the United Arab Emirates in December 1971 but it continued to issue its own stamps. In July 1972 the UAE assumed full postal responsibilities. The United Arab Emirates or the UAE, is a country located in the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar, Iran and Pakistan. The UAE is a federation of seven emirates (equivalent to principalities). The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain.

    See all
    Kangaroo Stamps: 1st Watermark 1 Blue & Brown  Mint  -  RARE   -  (i412)
    Kangaroo Stamps: 1st Watermark 1 Bl...
    Great Britain 1840/411 Matched Pair  1d Black/1d Red, Plate 9  Fine  (Jy870)
    Great Britain 1840/411 Matched Pair...
    US, Amazing accumulation of 19th century Stamps in stock pages
    US, Amazing accumulation of 19th ce...
    1879 China Large Dragon Stamp on Cover
    1879 China Large Dragon Stamp on Co...
    Kangaroo Stamps: 1st Watermark 1 Blue & Brown  Mint  -  RARE   -  (i412)
    Kangaroo Stamps: 1st Watermark 1 Bl...
    See all

    Want to post a comment?

    Create an account or login in order to post a comment.