Share your favorites on Show & Tell

1972 - Sharjah - "J.F. Kennedy" Postage Stamps

In Stamps > Show & Tell and Politics > Kennedy Memorabilia > Show & Tell.
WORLD POSTAGE STAMPS - - - ASS…65 of 69Solomon Islands - "America's Cup" Postage Stamps1972 - Tonga - "Banana" Postage Stamp
Love it
Like it

peteypetey loves this.
AimathenaAimathena loves this.
geo26egeo26e loves this.
walksoftlywalksoftly loves this.
SEAN68SEAN68 loves this.
pops52pops52 loves this.
DrFluffyDrFluffy loves this.
See 5 more
Add to collection

Please create an account, or Log in here

If you don't have an account, create one here.

Create a Show & TellReport as inappropriate

Posted 4 years ago


(2304 items)

This is a first day issue postmarked mini-sheet of (6) John F. Kennedy commemorative postage stamps issued on May 25, 1972 by Sharjah & Dependencies. - The sheet contains three Air Mail stamps (left side), and three regular mail stamps. There is no catalog listing for this issue.
#1) - 75 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Cape Canaveral, Florida (Air Mail)
#2) - 1 riyal - J.F. Kennedy & Statue of Liberty, New York City (Air Mail)
#3) - 3 riyals - J.F. Kennedy & Niagara Falls, New York/Canada (Air Mail)
#4) - 5 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA
#5) - 10 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & The White House, Washington, D.C.
#6) - 35 dirhams - J.F. Kennedy & Mount Rushmore, South Dakota
FIRST DAY ISSUE POSTMARK - May 25, 1972 / Sharjah & Dependencies
In 1963 Sharjah opened its own post office and began to issue its stamps and postal stationery under the name of Sharjah & Dependencies (which included Kalba, Khor Fakkan, and Dibbah). Sharjah and its dependencies joined the United Arab Emirates in December 1971 but it continued to issue its own stamps. In July 1972 the UAE assumed full postal responsibilities. The United Arab Emirates or the UAE, is a country located in the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar, Iran and Pakistan. The UAE is a federation of seven emirates (equivalent to principalities). The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain.

Want to post a comment?

Create an account or login in order to post a comment.