Colonial coins refer to all coins in circulation in the British American colonies before the U.S. Mint opened for business in 1792. These include coins minted in the colonies of Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Jersey, as well as Vermont, even though Vermont did not become a state until 1791. The phrase “colonial coins” also encompassed coins from other countries that were used in the colonies, including coins from Spain (reales), the Netherlands (daaldes), and Britain (shillings and pence).

The first true colonial coins, struck in Massachusetts between June and October of 1652, bear nothing more than the letters “NE” for New England on the obverse, with Roman numerals on the reverse to designate the value—III was worth three shillings, XII was worth 12 shillings, and so on). The silver in these coins often came from other coins such as Bolivian reales, secured in trades for everything from rum to timber. Silversmith John Hull was the mintmaster of these first coins, initially paid one shilling threepence for every 20 New England coins he produced.

The Willow Tree coins followed in 1653, named for tree design on its observe. Then came the Oak Tree (1660-1667) and Pine Tree (1667-1682) coins. Of these, the Pine Tree shillings are most accessible to collectors today. Curiously, most of Pine Tree coins are dated 1652, despite the fact that they were minted more than a decade later. According to the late Richard Doty, who was the Smithsonian’s Coin and Currency Curator for a quarter century, the backdating was due to the fact that the King of England was legally the only one with the right to mint coins in the colonies, but in the 1650s, the monarchy lacked a head of state, literally—King Charles I was publicly beheaded in 1649, and England’s throne remained empty until Charles II took it in 1660.

American Plantation Tokens, on the other hand, were struck in 1688 with the permission of the King James II—these coins were made of tin. In 1722, an Englishman named William Wood, who also produced coins for Ireland, issued brass half-penny, penny, and twopence “Rosa American” coins, with the permission of King George I, whose bust is featured on the obverse. Beginning in 1773, Virginia got official halfpennies, most of which were minted out of copper.

Other colonial coins of note are the Lord Baltimore coins that circulated in Maryland from 1659 to around 1700, and the St. Patrick farthings and halfpennies that were struck for the colony of New Jersey after 1682.

Best of the Web (“Hall of Fame”)

Legendary Coins and Currency

Legendary Coins and Currency

This online exhibition from the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History is a great way to get an overview… [read review or visit site]

Society of U.S. Pattern Collectors

Society of U.S. Pattern Collectors

Home to the Society of U.S. Pattern collectors, this well-organized site provides in-depth information on pattern c… [read review or visit site]

Clubs & Associations

Other Great Reference Sites

Most watched eBay auctions    

Old 1758 French Indian War Spanish Gold Escudo Doubloon Pirate Coin Nr1788 Massachusetts Cent, Colonial Commonwealth Penny, Vintage Coin 1c (112322n)1788 Connecticut Copper High Grade Lots Of Details1783 Washington Draped Bust W/button, Baker-5, Very Rare Variety, Nice Vf1785 Vermont Landscape Copper, Ryder-4, Vf (!), Rare Vermontis Type, Very Nice!1787 Massachusetts Cent, Ryder 2b-e, Very Rare Variety, W/old Envelope, Near Vf!1785 Vermont Landscape Copper, Vermonts, Scarce Ryder 3, R.5, Poor1776 British One Guinea Coin Weight Brass - "tower Standerd" Crown Mark 5dwt 8gr1785. Nova Constellation Cent. Better Grade ColonialAuthentic American Revolutionary War Coin 1775 Bold Date (75424cvs Inv #Colonial. Connecticut Copper, 1786, Miller 16.1-h1750 King George Ii British Us Colonial Copper Halfpenny - Historic Old Coin 1723 Hibernia Half PennyColonial. Washington Cent, Undated (1783), Double Head, Ngc Fine Details2017 S Enhanced Uncirculated Complete Set 10 Coins Pcgs Sp70 First Strike1787 New Jersey Colonial. Circulated. 114909Authentic American Revolutionary War Coin 1772 Scarce Date (72n1cvs Inv #1788 New Jersey Colonial Copper Cent Coin. Rare!!! Chocolate Brown Color.1787 New Jersey Copper Colonial Camels Head .99c No ReserveColonial. Washington Cent, 1783, Washington & Independence, Baker 4*incredible !! * American Revolutionary War Copper Coin - 1775 Geo Iii Halfpenny1787-88 New Jersey Colonial. Circulated. 1149081787-88 New Jersey Colonial. Circulated. 1149101749 King George Ii British Us Colonial Copper Halfpenny - Historic Old Coin Authentic Post American Revolutionary War Coin Irish 1782 Bold Date(82050cvs In#Colonial Aylesbury Abolition Of Slavery Halfpenny Token 1796Antique / "fugio" / Coin-cent / 1787 / United-states / 8-8d1787 Vermont Colonial. Nice Grade For A Colonial. 1149111787 Connecticut Copper, Miller 11.2-k, Pcgs Slabbed Good-6, Probably Nicer!Colonial. Washington Cent, 1783, No Button On Toga, Vlack 13-jGenuine Old 1754 Spain Pre F&i War Two 2 Real Pirate Silver Coin Nr1697 King William Iii British Us Colonial Halfpenny - Neat Double Struck ObverseRare Coin Of United States Feuchtwanger One Cent Composition Coin Dated 1837 Xf1779 Us Colonial American Revolutionary War! Old Us Coins!1787 Fugio Cent Higher Grade See The Pics No Reserve*prados* Lot Of 37 Pirate Cobs Spanish Colonial CoinsColonial. New Jersey Copper, 1787, Maris 32-t, 128.6 Grains1787 Vermont Colonial Early American Copper Us Coin HoledColonial. Vermont Copper, 1788, Ryder 13 Rr-13Undated Colonial Spanish 8 Reales Shipwreck Salvage First American Silver Dollar1736 King George Ii British Us Colonial Copper Farthing - Historic Old Coin 1787 Connecticut Colonial ~ Nice!!Authentic American Revolutionary War Coin 1775 Bold Date (75230cvs Inv #Colonial. Connecticut Copper, 1787, Miller 33.17-r.1, B (lib) Over CinquefoilWashington Head Colonial. 2 Headed. One Cent. 114912Colonial. Machin's Mills Evasion Halfpenny, 1787, Vlack 18-87c1774 Colonial Era Copper Coin1787 Connecticut State Copper CoinRare Pirate Pipe Tamper Sunken Treasure Spanish Galleon Found On Oak Island!1787 Colonial Connecticut Copper Draped Bust Facing Left Coin Free S/h1785 Connecticut Copper, Miller 3.1-a.3, First Year Of Issue, Fine, No ReserveColonial. Vermont Copper, 1788, Ryder 20 Or 37, Rr-20 Or Rr-371774 King George Iii British Us Colonial Copper Halfpenny - Historic Nonregal 1775 King George Iii British Us Colonial Copper Halfpenny - Historic Nonregal Authentic American Revolutionary War Coin 1775 Long Neck (75432cvs Inv #Genuine Old Silver 1770 German Thaler Coins Lot 2 Nr3 Silver Coins From The Philippine Islands. 1907-1935. No Reserve!!Early Colonial Copper Coin - 1743 George Ii Halfpenny - Clear DateAwesome * Early Colonial Silver Coin - 1782 Spanish 1/2 Reale * Pirate Treasure1763 Contemporary Northumberland Shilling Plain Edge White Metal Type Very Nice!