Share your favorites on Show & Tell

Looking for opinions on these brush pots.

In Asian > Dragons > Show & Tell.
Asian Antiques1566 of 3401Old Chinese Wooden Box I need your help to find the description off this vase
6
Love it
1
Like it

Songwriter53Songwriter53 loves this.
jrfm410jrfm410 loves this.
mikelv85mikelv85 loves this.
bratjddbratjdd loves this.
carmenisacatcarmenisacat likes this.
nldionnenldionne loves this.
vetraio50vetraio50 loves this.
See 5 more
Add to collection

Please create an account, or Log in here

If you don't have an account, create one here.


Create a Show & TellReport as inappropriate



Posted 1 year ago

Email

BHock45
(631 items)

Hello everyone. I wanted to get these posted to have some opinions on them. I already have my opinion, that is, that they are fantastic. I believe they are called Brush Pots. Not 100 percent sure.

I am looking for someone with expertise in this area to help me date these. A few things to note....

The insides of the two are unglazed. The lip of each is slightly rounded, and obviously the two pictures differ. One has a dragon moving toward a ball in the middle. Both have the same lettering on the back of the pot. I mean...to me these look old. Under high magnification I see some tiny holes in the glaze. Also, they're are tiny hairline fractures in some areas. The bottom shows wear but nothing to indicate they are hundreds of years old.

I studied the two pots based on their features instead of the mark at the bottom. I would, however, love to know more about these marks. Thanks for looking!!!

Unsolved Mystery

Help us close this case. Add your knowledge below.

Comments

  1. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    thank you nldionne bratjdd, mustangtony and vetraio.
  2. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    thank you carmenisacat!
  3. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    anyone have any thoughts on these? 1900's?
  4. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    could these be "bleu de hue"?

    http://www.gotheborg.com/glossary/bleudehue.shtml
  5. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    Some have poem on them. One common two character mark reads Nei Fu, and can be translated as "Inner Court". Blue de Hue wares were made in China for the Vietnamese dynasties in the 18th and 19th century until after the revolution led by Dr. Sun Yat-sen. At the end of the 19th century metal rims vere popular, to protect the rim from damages.
  6. mikelv85 mikelv85, 1 year ago
    I could ask my friend to translate the mark. He and his wife both speak and read Chinese and a little Japanese. He did my blue and white marks for me and what he said matched what I had looked up. Marks on Asian pieces almost never date them accurately unlike European pottery. They can use them years out the dynasty timeline. It's still fun to know what they say though.
  7. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    very interesting, yes mikelv85 that would be great! If you could ask him about the marks on the bottom, and I believe the two marks are different. The first letter/symbol I believe is Han, the one in the top right, I believe it means something like sky or heaven. But I really have no clue what I am doing. So yes please ask!!! Thanks!
  8. BHock45 BHock45, 1 year ago
    I do think I figured out the marking on the back side of the cup. The large circle seen in the third image. I believe this is "show", a form of compliment, like "many wishes for a long happy life"

    http://books.google.com/books?id=0HcBAAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&source=gbs_ge_summary_r&cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false

    page 195

Want to post a comment?

Create an account or login in order to post a comment.